The Homework Project

The girl is working on a project for school called “All about me”. It is a poster she has to fill out with pictures of her, her family, what she likes to do and stuff like that. The poster can include drawings, clippings from magazines or actual photos.

Because nothing is simple in our world, she decided to make a diorama of Santa’s Workshop to show how she “wishes for a reindeer” (in case you don’t remember, a diorama is a 3-d design using various messy objects to demonstrate an idea in a picture form – all inside a box.) I’m thinking the resulting “display” will now be sacred and I will have to be careful about how I dispose of it.

After assembling this elaborate diorama, she took pictures of it and I helped her print those so she could glue them on her poster.

She set up a desk of a folding TV table and put her name on it (like a name plate) and some art supplies.  I took her picture sitting at this “desk” so she could show herself as an art teacher when she grows up.

She has been spending a couple hours messing around with these props for her photos. You’d probably get quite a kick out of it – other than the fact that there is now a bunch of crap all over the house from this “project” and we have a girl scout meeting here tomorrow after school.

Bring on the puppet show book reports!

2 responses to “The Homework Project

  1. amazing weathervane October 30, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. jjmtacoma November 7, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I’ve considered changing it – mostly I just feel guilty that I don’t post more often.

    Those are good ideas, thanks!